Established in 1873, the history of Crystal Brook certainly adds to the town’s beauty and charm, with gorgeous stone buildings lining the main streets, Pick up a Bowman Street or Historic Homes brochure from the Visitor Information Outlet in “Reflections” and wander through the town to see some of the beautiful buildings and the stories they have to tell.

One of the first story buildings in Crystal Brook started as a Butcher shop and became a tearoom and bakery with ovens located in the cellar. Today, it is the Crystal Brook Heritage Centre hosting stunning historic displays open on Sundays, public holidays and by appointment. It is believed to be the sole underground bakehouse remaining in South Australia.